2012

17 Apr

Well here I go with my new venture in the blogging world.

I am moved to join the party at this juncture as 2012 is a massive year for London and as a London/England tour guide I think I am going to have lots to say beyond the limits of a tweet !

I just hope I find the time to share my experiences with you as it may well turn out to be a heck of a busy time.

In a nutshell we have :-

– The Diamond Jubilee to celebrate 60 years on the throne for Queen Elizabeth II – only the second monarch in our history to reach this landmark

– The London Olympics. We are the ONLY city in the world to stage the games for the third timed. Should they always take place in Greece or can we still justify this moving circus with all the costs it brings with it ?

At this stage I just want to recommend that you tune into ‘Twenty Twelve’ the spoof programme about planning the games from BBC2 – it is  very funny. If you miss it airing on a Sunday evening do yourself a favour and catch up with it on the Bbc i-Player.

– Charles Dickens – probably the greatest writer of his age would have been 200 this year.

– The Titanic went down 100 years ago – as if you have not been somewhat overwhelmed by that subject.

Either way – apart from those who simply want to crash out on a beach by day and drink into the night – there really is something for everybody in London in 2012 and that is without even mentioning Wimbledon which goes on as normal in June and the European Football Championships which as a soccer event eclipses the Olympics.

I look forward to sharing my observations and experiences as this whole drama unfolds – the good, the bad and the ugly !

I welcome you on the roller coaster ride with me.

 

Thanks for reading.

Mitchell

The England Tour Guide

London, England., April  2012

Leave a comment